St Ignatius College Riverview

Saint Ignatius’ College Riverview

Saint Ignatius’ College Riverview is a Roman Catholic, day and boarding school for boys located in Riverview, a small suburb situated on the Lane Cove River on the Lower North Shore of Sydney, New South Wales,Australia.Established in 1880 by Fr Joseph Dalton SJ, of the Society of Jesus, Saint Ignatius’ is a Jesuit school in the tradition of St Ignatius of Loyola. It is part of the international network of Jesuit schools that began in Messina,Sicily in 1548. Saint Ignatius’ College has a non-selective enrolment policy and currently caters for approximately 1,560 students from Years 5 to 12, including 335 boarders in Years 6 to 12.

The college is a member of the Association of Heads of Independent Schools of Australia (AHISA),the Junior School Heads Association of Australia (JSHAA), the Australian Boarding Schools’ Association,and is a founding member of the Athletic Association of the Great Public Schools of New South Wales (AAGPS).

Numerous leading contributors to Australian politics, arts, law, religion and sport were educated at Riverview. The former Prime Minister of Australia, Tony Abbott, is a notable alumnus of the college; as is the currentDeputy Prime Minister of Australia, Barnaby Joyce, the current Chief Justice of New South Wales, Tom Bathurst and the current Archbishop of Sydney, Anthony Fisher OP. A former Premier of New South Wales, Nick Greiner also attended Riverview. The college has produced 9 Olympians and 8 Rhodes Scholars as well as the first Australian-born astronaut, Paul Scully-Power, and numerous writers including poet Christopher Brennan, art critic Robert Hughes, playwright Nick Enright and entertainer Andrew O’Keefe.